Hearts, buttons and ribbons

This idea came to me out of the blue today! And if I’m completely honest, it was a bit of a happy accident! But I think they’re the best creations, ideas that came by accident! So I have been trying out a new kind of thicker fabric for my outer lining, I am not sure of the exact name but it’s very thick and good quality!

I cut out a heart template, and sewed on my checkered heart to the front of my outer fabric, this was the happy accident I was talking about, I used the wrong stitching! But it turned out far better than the original idea anyway! As I went to pull out my lining from the drawer, I noticed my red buttons on the side and thought how great they would look on the heart!! They usually sit there looking pretty (purposely hehe). A good tip, is once you have aligned buttons and other accessories where you want them, take a photo because there is no way I would remember where they were meant to go other wise!

I spent a while thinking of what colour to line the bag with, plain red, plain pink or the checkered red used for the heart, eventually I went with the plain red so it didn’t look too fussy!

I then sat back and thought, does this look too plain? I realised I had some red ribbon around somewhere, placed it on the bag and decided it would look perfect so sewed this on at the very edges, making sure when I constructed the purse that the edges of the ribbons where the bag meets at the sides lines up!

So there we have it! A happy accidental new design! Check out the back of the bag too!

I hope you like it! 🙂

image

Leave a comment